My Legacy as a Future Leader

When I was in High School, I was asked to compete for an Oratorical Contest to be held in Far Eastern University. It was supposed to be a Extemporaneous Speech, but we were given the chance to make our speech and memorize it afterwards. So I’d like to share to you my composition:

“I am sorry,” “Pangarap kong tuparin ang pangarap n’yo,” Are these lines somewhat familiar to you? Of course they are! These lines were expressed by the leaders of today.

A pleasant day to our guests, faculty, and my fellow students! I am Patricia Ann Mendoza, and I am here to talk about leadership.

So, How do you picture our future leaders? Is your future leader like Manny Pacquiao? Or someone like Paris Hilton? Or perhaps like Willie Revilliame who does the “ah-doo-doo-doo, ah-da-da-da” dance?

If you’re wondering why I mentioned such personalities, well, its because, they are the ones who are popular to the youth of today; wherein most of us idolize and sometimes imitate such personalities.

If we’ll try to picture the youth nowadays, most of us label ourselves. There are the so-called “rockers,” “hip hopers,” “conyos,” and the like. My question is, which one of them would you like to be leaders?

As one of the youth, I may be in the position to be a leader, and I believe that true leaders cannot be labeled for they are flexible and dynamic. And I know for a fact that we want leaders who are not only intelligent and responsible but also he or she must be honest and serves his or her people faithfully.

Let me share you a story that inspires me. There was a poor door-to-door salesman who ran out of money.  When suddenly he felt hungry and decided to ask for food from the next person who answered the door.  He ended up merely asking for a glass of water; however, the woman brought him a glass of milk instead.  Years later, the poor boy named Dr. Howard Kelly, became a famous physician and the woman who gave him the glass of milk became seriously ill.  He took good care of her, and she recovered. But when the bill was presented to the woman, it simply said, “Paid in full with one glass of milk.”

Why does this story inspires me? It inspires me because it talks about true service. Truly, one good deed deserves another. But kindness does not ask for any payment because its values last a lifetime.

Often times we help someone and expect to be paid for our labors. We come to the point of thinking that nothing in this world is free anymore. But that is not what true service is all about. The one who truly serves is doing a good deed for free and asks for no returns. God Himself gives us loads of blessings in our lives for free even if we, ourselves, doesn’t deserve to be given such gifts.

I want to be that kind of leader, I want to serve with a heart that is moved by God’s presence – a love that is offered for free. I don’t even need to be in a position to show charity in opportunities like: assisting an old lady to cross the street, helping to put out a fire in your neighbor’s house, or bringing an injured person to the hospital due to vehicular accidents. These are occasions of services. We don’t even have to look for them because even when not faced with them, I can still be a leader by doing my job with integrity.

Even though we differ in our vocations, all of us find ourselves in situations where we are called to serve. Some of us would cringe away from them. Others would find excuses to avoid them. But a heart that is tested by humility and kindness is always willing to serve.

I hope that when the time comes, I will be one of those who are always eager and wilful to serve. But let us not forget that we should not just imagine, visualize or even fantasize what we want for the future, we have to put it into action as well. So as early as now, we should learn how to lead others accordingly. Let us not sacrifice the ideal from the practical. Therefore, I challenge you, my fellow youth, that starting now let us not just do what is popular or because everybody is doing it, but we should do what is right and proper, let us not ignore the value of honesty for corruption exists, and more importantly, let us not just be contented on what our minds think but let our hearts speak for itself.

Before I end, let me leave you with a quote by Nathan C. Schaeffer that serves as my guide and encouragement as a leader in my own school:
“At the close of life the question will be not how much have you got, but how much have you given; not how much have you won, but how much have you done; not how much have you saved, but how much have you sacrificed; not how much were you honored but how much have you loved and served.”

Thank you!

–TOO BAD I LOST IN THIS CONTEST. 😛

2 responses to “My Legacy as a Future Leader

What can you say about this?

